Mini Creme Egg Cheesecakes

9 Mar

Today I decided I wanted to make one of my cheesecakes, but I didn’t fancy my usual Mars themed recipe, so had to have a think about what else I could try… A few ideas were batted about until I decided on Creme Eggs, seeing as we’re near Easter and all, and I may have just a slight addition to them atm! ;-)

I started out with my usual cheesecake recipe (see my Mars cheesecake entry – http://wp.me/p3COiP-1G) but excluded the caramel. I also substituted the normal hobnobs for chocolate ones to give it a tad more chocolate for Easter!

I separated the batch into 16 individual muffin cases and made each cheesecake individually. Muffin-sized cases are better as their wider and generally slightly thicker… You’ll also want to use a muffin tin to hold the cases whilst setting or else the weight of the mixture will collapse the sides of the cases… Put the biscuit in first, flatten with your fingers or the end of a spoon, and place them in the fridge for about 10mins, then put the mixture on top and place back in the fridge for a further 10mins… After this, I took them back out and placed a small dollop of melted chocolate into the middle of each cake. Then very carefully, I placed the two halves of the mini creme eggs (cut them along the seal line with a sharp chefs knife) on top of the chocolate, giving them a little ‘push’ into the mixture to make it look as if the chocolate had melted off the eggs.

These then went back into the fridge for about 1-2hrs before being ready to serve!

All in all about 30-40mins prep and a couple of hours in the fridge = Easy (and fun) Easter desert!

image

image

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

