My Denby Jet Bargain Buy

denby

Today I received my delivery of my new Denby dinner set. This purchase was my bargain of the year to date, and made me glad I waited at Christmas.

We’d seen the set we wanted in House of Fraiser’s before Christmas – Denby sets are usually about £250 RRP But you can generally get a 16-piece set for around £130 at different times of the year if your happy to wait. I didn’t want to risk waiting till we actually moved in before buying the set as I was worried it would be just my luck they wouldn’t be on offer when we came to moving, so was starting to think that ‘Spring’ would be the next closet time before we moved that an offer would come on… It was for this reason that I had started doing a daily search on the ‘usual’ sites such as HoF, Debenhams and Denby Direct for any offers on my selected range.

At first I managed to find a deal for £120 for a 16-piece set which I didn’t think was too bad, but the deal seemed to be a long-standing offer so thought I might as well wait until payday – as you do…

The next morning however I noticed that Denby’s outlet store was selling 4-piece versions of the set for £10.75 each! I thought this must be a mistake as the side plate alone to buy singly was £12 and I’d never seen single place-setting sets before… (though come to think of it, it would make sense for buying additional place-settings over the normal 4). I even got my mother to check the page to make sure it wasn’t just a plate! But sure enough it seemed right! Set comprising of 1X Tea Plate, 1X Dinner Plate, 1X Bowl and 1X Mug for £10.75! I thought about waiting for my husband to get home to see what he thought, but then decided sod it, ill just get them as we were definitely buying them either way!

I’d always wanted to work my way up to having 8-place settings worth of crockery, but at this price I thought I might as well buy it all now seeing as its still costing me less than one full set would normally… £86 later I seemingly had two 16-piece dinner sets direct from Denby… I thought it seemed too good to be true considering to buy the one set was still £120 online!
Well anyways, less than 24hrs later I noticed the listing had been removed from the site, and a new one for 3X the price had gone up! I panicked thinking they had obviously made a mistake and realized said mistake, and were not going to honour my order, I darent ring them in case they call me on it, but they had taken payment already, so I thought I’d wait and see what happened…

Well 3days later I have today received my delivery, all 8 boxes worth, and am extremely happy! Can’t believe what a bargain I managed to get there and just proves that both patience and decisiveness does pay off, as otherwise I would only have one 16-piece set right now for almost double what I paid for two!
Definitely a #100happydays moment and can’t wait to start using these in our new house! 🙂

Leave a comment